Giornico

A beautiful village in the Leventina, which has always been a crossing stopover for travelers and pilgrims due to its strategic location at the foot of Biaschina gorges.

The well known battle called of the "Sassi Grossi" took place here, and  on 28 December 1478 saw the victory of the Swiss Confederation on the Sforza army, after which the entire Val Leventina came under the Swiss domination.

There are many beautiful monuments to visit. Of particular importance is the St. Nicholas Church, a Benedictine church of the twelfth century (1168), the oldest Romanesque church of Leventina. The church keeps valuable frescoes by Nicolao da Seregno.

Another characteristic place of Giornico is the Casa Stanga, wich houses the Museo di Leventina. On its facade you can see frescoes by Caresano and Tarilli (end of 1500) representing the crest of the guests of honor of the then "Locanda Stanga".

Typical objects of rural life and business are exposed inside the museum, especially related to breeding and production of dairy products. Apart from these you can also admire religious objects and traditional costumes and furniture of the valley, as well as various everyday objects that tell the everyday life of the time.
For more information: museodileventina.ch
Free admission to the Swiss Museum Pass

Find your connection.

With the Arcobaleno 1-Day Travelcard you can travel freely within your chosen zones.
Buy your ticket at the SBB Ticket Shop

Giornico

Ein Juvel der Valle Leventina.

Ein wunderschönes Dorf in der Leventina, das seit immer eine Durchgangs-Etappe für Reisende und Pilger  war dank der strategischen Lage am Fuße der Biaschina Schluchten.

Sehr bekannt ist die Schlacht  der "Sassi Grossi genannt, die am 28. Dezember 1478 stattfand, und mit dem Sieg der Schweizerischen Eidgenossenschaft über die Sforza-Armee endete, nach dem die gesamte Val Leventina unter die Schweizer Herrschaft kam.

Es gibt viele schöne Denkmäler zu besichtigen. Von besonderer Bedeutung ist die St.-Nikolaus-Kirche, eine Benediktiner-Kirche aus dem zwölften Jahrhundert (1168), die ältesten romanische Kirche der Leventina. Die Kirche bewahrt wertvolle Fresken von Nicolao da Seregno.

Ein weiteres Merkmal Ort dieses Landes ist die Casa Stanga, Sitz des Museo di Leventina. An seiner Fassade können Sie Fresken von Caresano und Tarilli das Ende von 1500 besichtigen, die die Wappen der Ehrengäste des damaligen "Locanda Stanga" darstellen.

Ausgestellt sind typische Zustände der Bergregion, vor allem im Zusammenhang mit der Zucht von Vieh und Produktion von Milchprodukten Im Inneren befinden sich auch religiöse Kunstgegenstände, traditionelle Kostüme und Alltag-Gegenstände wie Möbel und Geschirr.
Weitere Informationen: museodileventina.ch
Freier Eintritt mit dem Schweizer Museumspass

Suchen Sie Ihre Verbindung

Mit der Arcobaleno Tageskarte können Sie innerhalb der gewählten Zonen frei reisen.

Kaufen Sie Ihr Billett im SBB Ticket Shop